How Long Do Creditors Have To Make Claims Against The Estate Of Washington State Residences?

Creditors generally have two years from the date of death to bring their claim against the estate of a deceased person. However, if notices to creditors have been properly sent to all “reasonably ascertainable” creditors and notice has been published, then creditors only have 4 months from the date of publication or 30 days from the date the notice was served or mailed (whichever is later).

There is a requirement that the personal representative of the estate make a reasonable review of the deceased’s mail, bank statements, loan documents, checkbooks, etc., for information related to determining who the creditors of the estate might include.

However, there is something in your question that raises one other possible situation. Your question refers to claims against “Washington state residences.” If we are talking about a mortgage/deed of trust, then the lien created in that situation will continue to be effective against the property until paid and released.

Douglas N. Kiger, Attorney at Law
Blado Kiger Bolan, Tacoma, Wash

Related Posts
  • My Wife’s Mother Passed Away With a Will, but It Wasn’t Notarized. (We Do Have Her Power of Attorney.) The Bank Has Frozen Her Account of $1,500. What Are Our Options? Read More
  • Are Estate Companies Responsible for the Security of a House That Is Part of the Estate? We Experienced Damage to the Home and Don’t Want to Pay. Read More
  • Dad Died 2 Years Ago and My Stepmother Said There Was No Will, and No Inheritance for My Sister and I. (There Was Significant Money Involved.) She Says We Are in Her Will. Will We Get Our Inheritance? Read More